B/W image sensor focusing with IR lighting environments

Tested with a P26 with a b/w sensor and Raytec Vario i8 940nm light.

Using a b/w image sensor during the day (focused during day) will not give the same image clarity at night using IR lighting. I have found that adjusting the focus of the lens at night will sharpen the image greatly. This problem, imo, means that I should only be using dual image camera setups in my situation where one is focused for day (color or b/w) and one b/w focused for the IR lighting. This, unfortunately means, in my setup, that I would need to use 2 dual cam setups instead of 1 to cover the same area.

I’ve been using Mobotix for 15 years. And I always thought the problem was the “strength” of the IR light itself. But it appears that when using IR lighting, the lens will need to be focused for the type lighting involved. It’s unfortunate I took so long to see this as a sensor issue. The hardware side has been “rock solid” for me. I have yet to have a failure. I am still using a d12 from when I bought it new (13 or 14 years ago). And I am the beneficiary of reliability of the “no moving parts” mantra that mobotix stood by for so many years. But, I’m wondering if I should consider moving to a camera that will (auto) adjust focus for the lighting used.

Is there anyone else that can confirm/refute what I am talking about? And is there anyone that has further insight? I also have s16’s that are in an 850nm environment. I have not tried focusing these at night.
As some will know, it can be a PITA to do this on site.

Would be great to see some sample images to better understand the phenomen. Also, have you fiddled around with the sensor gain setting to see if it has any effect?